Morgantown, West Virginia – March 24, 2015

In late 2014, the National Youth Science Foundation and the West Virginia and Regional History Center and Special Collections at the West Virginia University, reached an agreement to establish an archive of materials related to the National Youth Science Camp and the National Youth Science Foundation. On March 23, 2015, the NYSF transferred the first set of materials (50 boxes) to the Center. These materials are in two collections:

The National Youth Science Camp Collection (1963 to 1982)

Established in honor of Charles N. Cochran and Joseph M. Hutchison, these materials included contributions by:

  • Roderick Wilson
  • Joseph M. Hutchison
  • Haywood McCallum
  • National Youth Science Foundation
  • James Shuman
  • Betsy A. Miller
  • Cuong V. Do
  • Kathryn Burgess
  • Don Smith
  • James “Ray” Rappold
  • Paul Miller
  • Andrew Blackwood

The National Youth Science Foundation Collection (1983 to present)

Contributions by:

  • Ronald G. Pearson
  • James Shuman
  • Andrew Blackwood

These materials have been indexed and are available for research. Great appreciation is expressed for the members of the Archive Committee (all former NYSC directors) whose leadership led to this momentous occasion:

  • Dr. Kathryn Burgess (chair)
  • Mr. Roderick Wilson
  • Mr. Don Smith
  • Dr. Paul Miller