WASHINGTON, D.C. – July 18, 2012 –National Youth Science Camp (NYSC) delegates will meet science policy makers and Senators for a luncheon from noon to 2pm on July 18, 2012, in the Kennedy Caucus Room of the Russell Senate Office Building in Washington, D.C. The luncheon will be hosted by U.S. Senator John D. Rockefeller IV.

Dean Kamen will be the featured speaker. Kamen has over 440 patents in the US and abroad and is the founder of FIRST (For Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology), an organization aimed at advancing youth understanding and involvement in science and technology around the globe. FIRST will serve more than 250,000 students this year alone, spanning over 50 countries.

Also scheduled to speak at the Senate luncheon is Bill Conner, an NYSC delegate from Arkansas in 1977. Conner is now president and CEO of Entrust, a leading global provider of identity-based security solutions, with operations in over 60 countries and 4,000 organizations. The luncheon is sponsored by Entrust.

The NYSC is a summer honors program for two of the brightest science students from each state and a select handful from around the world for a month-long science experience. NYSC was founded in 1963 and has run every summer since then.

Throughout delegates’ stay at Camp Pocahontas, located near the town of Bartow in the West Virginia mountains, delegates study with and attend guest lectures by first-rate scientists from across the country. They also engage in outdoor activities, including hiking and camping, rock climbing, and mountain biking.

The camp experience concludes with a highlight trip to the nation’s capital, wherein delegates tour the city’s museums and landmarks. Delegates will have the opportunity to meet their state’s Senators, which has impressed many delegates in the past.

Kate (Adam) Schramm, one of South Dakota’s delegates in 2007, said, “The fact that one of my state’s Senators came to the luncheon to meet with me renewed my faith in legislators’ commitment to support the rising scientists that will drive the scientific future of America.”



Rodolfo Villarreal-Calderon
National Youth Science Foundation


Lynne Schwabe
National Youth Science Foundation